8-14 July 2018
University of Azores
Ponta Delgada, S. Miguel, Azores

See the group photo here!


Click below for general announcements about Category Theory 2018.
2nd Announcement
Ponta Delgada

Ponta Delgada

Interested in learning more about São Miguel Island and Ponta Delgada? Click below.
Read More


Get to Ponta Delgada by plane! Click below for general travel information.
Read More


Click below for our recommended lodgings ranging from hostels to hotels, all within walking distance.
Read More

CT2018 group photo

Click here to see the group picture.

CT2018 video by Miguel Raposo Dias

Click here to download the video (235MB) made by Miguel Raposo Dias for the CT2018 Conference Dinner.

Pictures by Julia Goedecke – CT 2018

You may see here some photos of the campus and the Agrião Trail hike taken by Julia Goedecke.

From the airport to Ponta Delgada – CT 2018

You should take a taxi from the airport to your hotel. The airport is located less than 3 km from the city of Ponta Delgada. More information here.

Programme is now available! – CT 2018

You may have a look to the programme and abstracts here.

The conference begins with a Welcome Reception on Sunday July 8th (18:00-20:00) and ends on Saturday July 14th at 12:30.

Second announcement – CT 2018


  • Deadline for abstract submission: May 25, 2018
  • Deadline for early registration: June 10, 2018


Book your accommodation as soon as possible! S. Miguel (and Azores) is a very touristic destination and the conference takes place during the high season. Also, there is a limited number of rooms with special rates secured for the CT participants; you may find those, and others, at www.mat.uc.pt/~ct2018/accommodation.html. These special rates are guaranteed for bookings made until March 31, 2018. Reservations should be dealt directly with each hotel.

We have some funding available for PhD students to subsidise the cost of accommodation at University Residences. Students should contact Maria Manuel Clementino (mmc at mat dot uc dot pt).


Follow the indications at www.mat.uc.pt/~ct2018/dates.html to submit an abstract. Acceptance of abstracts will be communicated by June 6, 2018. Talks are 30min (25min exposition + 5min discussion).


Please fill the registration form at www.mat.uc.pt/~ct2018/registration.html and make a bank transfer to pay the fee.

  • Early registration fee - 200€ (by June 10, 2018)
  • Late registration fee - 250€ (after June 10, 2018)
  • The fee includes conference documentation, welcome reception (Sunday evening), coffee breaks and lunches, excursion (Thursday afternoon) and conference dinner (Friday evening).

List of Invited Speakers – CT 2018

The Scientific Committee has just selected the CT2018 invited speakers. They all accepted our invitation.

  • James Borger (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)
  • James Gray (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Anders Kock (Aarhus Universitet, Denmark)
  • Tom Leinster (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Ignacio López Franco (Universidad de la República, Maldonado, Uruguay)
  • Lurdes Sousa (Instituto Politécnico de Viseu, Portugal)

First announcement – CT 2018

The 2018 international Conference on Category Theory will be held at the University of Azores, Island of S. Miguel, Portugal, from Sunday, July 8, till Saturday, July 14, 2018. It is organized by the Department of Mathematics of the University of Azores and the Centre for Mathematics of the University of Coimbra.

The conference begins with a Welcome Reception on Sunday July 8th and ends on Saturday July 14th at 1pm.


  • Maria Manuel Clementino (University of Coimbra, Portugal) - Chair
  • Richard Garner (Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia)
  • Marino Gran (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
  • Martin Hyland (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA)
  • Ross Street (Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia)
  • Walter Tholen (York University, Toronto, Canada)


  • Margarida Raposo (Univ. dos Açores)
  • Paula Garrão (Univ. dos Açores)
  • Maria Manuel Clementino (CMUC, Coimbra)
  • Jorge Picado (CMUC, Coimbra)
  • Diana Rodelo (CMUC, Coimbra)
  • Manuela Sobral (CMUC, Coimbra)
  • Lurdes Sousa (CMUC, Coimbra)

  • Deadline for abstract submission: May 25, 2018
  • Notification of acceptance: June 06, 2018
  • Deadline for early registration: TBA
  • Conference: July 8th-14th, 2018